Meet the Board

Luis Ramos Chairman

RamonLuis180724NSFCU03ret.jpgWith over 35 years of leadership and technical experience, Dr. Ramos brings a new depth to the role of Board Chairman at Nutmeg State Financial Credit Union (NSFCU).  He was elected Chairman of the Board on March 12, 2014.  Previously, Dr. Ramos served as Vice Chairman of the Board from 2010 to 2014; Board Secretary from 2008 to 2010; Supervisory Committee Chair from 2005 to 2008; and Member of the Supervisory Committee from 1998 to 2005.  Additionally, his career expands from 1984 when he joined Southern New England Telephone (SNET), SBC/SNET in 1998, and AT&T since the 2005 SBC/AT&T merger.  Dr. Ramos is a Principal Systems Engineer in the AT&T Technology Development Organization located in New Jersey.  In this capacity, he uses critical thinking skills to solve complex issues and develops solutions to complex business and technical problems of complex scope using advanced engineering and scientific principles and is an inventor with several filed patents at the United States Patent & Trademark Office (USPTO).  Dr. Ramos is also a Certified Faculty Member at the University of Phoenix School of Business since 2008 teaching Organizational Leadership and The External Factors that Impact Business, among other graduate business courses.  He holds a BA in Management, an MBA in Organizational Leadership and is a Doctor of Management in Organizational Leadership with a specialization in Information Systems and Technology (DMIST).  He also serves as a member of the University of Phoenix School of Business MBA Faculty Council responsible for providing strategic leadership and general support of school initiatives in areas of curriculum design, program assessment, scholarship and research activities, and Faculty governance since 2016. Dr. Ramos also serves as the CFO for the HACEMOS Scholarship Organization since 2005.​

Mike Petti SPHR, Vice Chairman

PettiMike180724NSFCU05ret.jpgMike was appointed to NSFCU’s Board of Directors in June of 2001. Prior to joining Nutmeg State Financial Credit Union’s Board of Directors, he served as the Chairman of the Board of Stanley Works Employees Federal Credit Union. He also served as Chairman of the Board from 2010-2014. Mike holds a BA from Franklin College, an MBA from the University of New Haven, the SPHR designation in Human Resources and is a Certified Mediator. Mike is formerly the Vice President of Human Resources for Goodrich Engine Controls, NA in West Hartford and is currently consulting in the Human Resources field. He has played a valuable role in the credit union’s growth and success.

Wallace Abramson Treasurer

AbramsonWallace180724NSFCU04ret.jpgWally has served on NSFCU’s Board of Directors since June of 2001. He previously served on the Stanley Works Employees Federal Credit Union Board. In 1998, he retired from Stanley Works after over 39 years of service. He plays a key role on our Board of Directors, and in addition to being a Director serves on the Technology Committee, and as Chairman of the Board Governance Committee. He has contributed a great deal to the credit union’s success since his appointment to the Board.

Beth Bunko Secretary


Beth was appointed Secretary of the Board in June 2021.  She served as the Supervisory Committee Chair from October 2015 until June 2021.  Beth has been a volunteer for the credit union since 2004 and has been employed by Eversource for over 30 years, holding a variety of positions in Accounting, Finance, Regulatory and IT.  Beth was appointed as an Advisory Board Member to the NSFCU’s Board of Directors in 2009, and a full Director in 2011.  Beth has BS in Marketing from CCSU and an MS in Professional Accounting from the University of Hartford.

Mike Godbout Board Member

GodboutMichael180724NSFCU08ret.jpgMike was appointed to the Board of Directors in September of 1989. Since then, he has served as both Chairman and Vice Chairman of the Board, and currently serves on the Personnel Committee. He also serves as Chairman of the ALM Committee.

Maria DeMarco Supervisory Committee Chair

DeMarcoMaria180724NSFCU12ret.jpgMaria joined the credit union’s Board as an Advisory Board Member in 2011.  In June of 2021, Maria was appointed as Supervisory Committee Chair.  She also serves on the Board Governance Committee. A longtime member of Nutmeg, she is currently the President of DeMarco Management Group in Hartford. Maria is very active in Connecticut’s business community and volunteers on many other boards and committees. She brings a fresh perspective to the Board and plays a valuable role in the credit union’s success.

P.J. Cimini, Esq. Board Member

PJCimini.jpgCimini joined the Advisory Board in 2019.  A long-time member of Nutmeg, he is the Founder and Partner in the government affairs firm Capitol Strategies Group, LLC, where he represents clients before all levels of government in Connecticut. Active in public affairs for many years in Connecticut, he has served in several public and private appointed positions including the state public defender’s commission and the University of Connecticut School of Law Board of Trustees. Mr. Cimini is a graduate of Drew University and went on to receive his MA in Public Policy from Rutgers University and his JD from the University of Connecticut School of Law and is admitted to the Connecticut Bar.

Steven Hernandez, Esq. Advisory Board Member

Board photo.jpgSteven Hernandez, Esq. is the Executive Director of the Commission on Women, Children, Seniors, Equity & Opportunity. Prior to his current service, he served the Connecticut State Legislature as Director of Public Policy and Research for the Connecticut Commission on Children. Mr. Hernandez served seven years as legislative and budget director at the Council of the District of Columbia in the office of Washington, D.C., Council member Jim Graham. He served as a clerk to two judges in the District's Court of Appeals and as a consultant to the Washington law firm Baker & Miller, PLLC. He received a bachelor of Arts Degree from Bennington College in Vermont in 1995 and a Juris Doctor Degree from the Washington College of Law at American University.